Colours and Brands

Ever since I decided I was moving to Manitoba, I have been obsessed with farming machinery and learning about it. I haven’t done so well so far…but I think I kind of know and understand combine’s (for Ontarioans: pronounced calm-bine, emphasize the calm – like, without any L sound).

So anyway, this post is not about combine’s, but I’m just letting you know all know about my extensive farming knowledge which is why I brought them up. This post is actually about general farming machinery and how you can tell the brands apart. Thank you, Sara for giving me this very helpful lesson!

Alright, first, you must know that there are “the big three“. These brands are John Deere, Case IH, and New Holland. You got that? Good. Now, we go into colour definition.

John Deere is obvious. It’s green. And the most expensive out of the three brands…apparently they may (or may not be) the best brand you can buy. However, John Deere is obviously totally snobby and all like “WE ARE THE BEST”.

Next, we have Case IH. They are all red. Case obviously wants you paying attention to them, which is why they chose red. They want to stand out and say, “Hey, we’re totally awesome and rockin'”, but at the same time, make sure they aren’t as snobby as John Deere, which they do well.

Finally, we have New Holland. How appropriate for me. New Holland decided that it wanted to be different, and well, since it’s New Holland, it’s obviously more tolerant to all colours of the rainbow than the other brands. This is why their combine’s are yellow and yet, their tractors are blue! How exciting! Their message is “We’re different, and we love everybody.”

How could I ever choose which brand to use if I were a farmer? Such a tough decision…however, I think I would go with Case IH (I know, shocker!), just because the red feels right. I will remember this in the future if I ever decide to become a farmer.

One thought on “Colours and Brands

  1. Pingback: Come From Away « Winnipeg O' My Heart

Leave a Reply

