The Deceptive 3 Year Old

Warning: This post may potentially mock my beloved friend, Adrian.

When I drove into Brandon, Manitoba on that fateful day of September 16th, I had no place to live. I was homeless. My amazing friend Adrian (who knows that he will most likely be a part of this blog – a lot) graciously put me up in his lovely basement apartment for a few days before I could move into my new apartment. Now, Adrian was just as desperate to find a place to live as I was nearing the end of August, so he took this basement apartment, even though he called the neighbourhood, “sketchy”.

Truth be told, he has talked to AAA Alarms and MTS on the phone and the people on the other end have even acknowledged that he lives in a “bad” neighbourhood; even though I think this is white people being potentially racist. However, they may not be. Maybe it’s all true. I saw this when I realized that Adrian had put me in a very dangerous situation by allowing me to crash at his place. You see, there is a “child gang” on that street. The leader? A deceptive 3 year old who is ready to distract you with their cuteness and have the others TAKE YOU DOWN. I’ve even seen meetings happen right in front of my eyes. The deceptive 3 year old sits everyone else in the gang down and tells them how it is. It’s crazy stuff. Crazy.

I feel so lucky to not have any harm done to me during my stay at Adrian’s. I mean, who knows what could’ve happen if I had stayed longer. You can never trust a 3 year old. They are so extremely dangerous. I can only hope that Adrian’s life will be safe from danger in the time being. He’s keeping a close watch on this child gang and he is prepared to do what he must if and when the time comes. But let’s hope that it never does…

Leave a Reply

