A New Pace

I’m used to the hustle and bustle of southern Ontario. Getting places very fast on the 400 series highways…making it to Toronto, Burlington or Oakville in record time. Here, things are a little different. People drive slow. Going 50 in a 70. Going 40 in a 50. Or, they actually go the speed limit, which I’m still not quite used to. They take time doing things. People just aren’t in a rush to get things done.

I’ve had an averse reaction to this initially. I still like the rush, but there is simply no rush here. However, I’ve been thinking, is this new, slower pace the end of the world? Maybe it’ll be nice. Maybe people are slower paced here because they just enjoy and appreciate time a little more than those in Ontario do. Maybe they just enjoy life a little more. Less stress. Less anger. More life. More love.

So, I have chosen to embrace the slow-paced life. I will at least try. Driving a little slower shouldn’t kill me, and taking a more laid-back approach to life may improve my quality of life. Who knows? All I know is that it’s happening, and I’m learning to embrace this new life slowly, but surely.

Leave a Reply

