The Prairie’s “Wish Book”?

As I checked my mail this evening, I scoured through the box and saw bank bill, hydro bill, Ontario jury duty crap…and a catalogue. I was intrigued by this. It’s a Cabela’s catalogue for the Winter/Holiday season, and it claims to be the “World’s Foremost Outfitters”. As I started going through this catalogue, I soon realized it wasn’t all happy-go-lucky CHRISTMAS TIME, YAY! It was, hunting, hunting, kill, kill, winter wear, hunting, hunting, kill.

In the first few pages, you come across CUTE STUFFED ANIMAL HEADS that are mounted to a wall post, as in to give children a hope of one day hunting their own animals and mounting them on their wall. I gasped with my jaw wide open. These are STUFFED ANIMALS, PEOPLE. Stuffed animals! You can’t leave the real ones alone, why can’t you leave the the fake cuddly ones alone? Oh, and then there is also the rugs. The stuffed animal rugs. Like, you know, a fake bear rug. A fake moose rug. My jaw, still opened.

Everything is camo in this catalogue. Everything. Even the pj’s. And after the winter wear section (the only redeeming thing about this catalogue), it’s all guns, rifles, ammo, hunting bows, other hunting gear and mounting kits.

THIS is where I have moved. Yes, to a place that is obsessed with hunting animals for fun. Hooray! Yippee! I love my life…(note the sarcasm). This may be the one thing I refuse to embrace while living here. And I know people here don’t get it, but I don’t get what’s so great about hunting…ah well, the differences will always exist.

One thought on “The Prairie’s “Wish Book”?

Leave a Reply

