Things I Have Learned So Far

This is my month end report. I’ve been living in Manitoba for about a month and a half, and here you’ll find a compilation of things I have learned so far.

1. If there is any construction going on at the Superstore, the world stops.

2. Even if it’s not winter yet, many Manitoban’s will dress like it is.

3. People drive slow here.

4. People always think they have the right of way while crossing any street, anywhere.

5. No one says “dinner” in regards to supper. It’s more a lunch thing here, and it’s a little weird to me.

6. My health “card” won’t be a card. It will be a piece of paper. I was shocked when I learned this, but it will be okay. I’ve accepted it.

7. Laundry detergent is a lot more expensive here than in Ontario.

8. Gas is a lot cheaper here than in Ontario.

9. The weather is actually warmer to me than it appears. Less moisture in the air means that I am warmer in general. When it’s 8 degrees out, it actually feels like 13-14 degrees to me. It’s a wonderful thing.

10. Although I sometimes feel like I’m in in the middle of nowhere, and a little lost and lonely sometimes, I haven’t and will not regret my move to Brandon, Manitoba. Ever.

5 thoughts on “Things I Have Learned So Far

  1. Dear Maude, #4 is a western tradition. In Calgary you do the same thing and it’s pretty big. My first Ontario Health Card was a piece of paper (that was a few years ago LOL) Sounds like you are adapting pretty well.

  2. These ones really resonated with me…

    2. Even if it’s not winter yet, many Manitoban’s will dress like it is. – I have found this to be the case in southern Ontario. As soon as the temperature fell below 15, people were busting out some serious jackets (while I found myself in just a shirt). I’ve also noticed that people put away their sandals extremely early – I usually wear them to nearly 0 in Manitoba (as do many people I know), but it seems that they also get put away when the temperature goes below 15. I found myself using the “I’m from Winnipeg” explanation a few times to justify my sandals and lack of jacket.

    8. Gas is a lot cheaper here than in Ontario. – So true…*sniffle*

    9. The weather is actually warmer to me than it appears. Less moisture in the air means that I am warmer in general. When it’s 8 degrees out, it actually feels like 13-14 degrees to me. It’s a wonderful thing. – I’ve lived through 25 Manitoba winters…and nothing frightens me more than a moist Ontario winter. I’m not sure how this one will play out.

    • I hope that you’ll successfully adapt to the southern Ontario winter! It is certainly more moist, but it really won’t get to those seriously low negative temperatures that it does here. I’m sure you’ll be fine!

  3. #3 and #4 LOL so true.
    and i cant stand all the yield signs instead of stop signs !
    i just moved to brandon in mid-august of this year, right behind superstore actually (and the construction there drove me nuts lol)
    i always thought it was strange when my grandma (from arborg, mb) would refer to dinner as lunch 😉

    • Hey Katrina! So nice to “meet” another newbie to Brandon! And yes, the yield signs, which seem optional to most, are kind of annoying as well!

Leave a Reply

