The Shovel Realization

As I’m sitting on the couch and watching Sleeping Beauty on my new TV, thanks to my “Biggest Fan!!!!” and um, my Mom, I feel like I have a myriad of things to write about. Let’s not even mention the fact that there is no snow in Hamilton right now, and that two of my good friends are on the same GO bus with Sheena (from MTV Live – I LOVE HER & her Hamiltonian roots) right now. That could be ME. But it’s not. I’m not bitter at all. Oh, and let’s not mention the fact that I had a “missed connection” with a friend because I thought we were meeting at the 18th Tim Hortons, and she thought that we were meeting at the Victoria Street Tim Hortons. Alright, rant over.

Instead, I’ve been driving on what I hope is the road, but not really sure. And as I type, I really hope that I parked in the right parking spot, but who knows? It’s covered in snow. I’m hoping for the best. Who knew that Winter Wonderland would be coming so soon? Oh yeah, apparently all Manitoban’s, right. I’m officially getting out of southern Ontario mode. Northern Ontario mode, here I come. The snow is perfectly abundant there and I have driven in blizzards there before, so I should be able to survive. (I should say, I don’t know what Manitoba mode is, so hopefully I’ll learn that soon enough and get with that).

I’ve realized that I’m not perfectly prepared for winter coming so soon. I’ve been pretty nonchalant about the winter and snow coming; just putting things off. And what have I put off? Let’s just see…

A shovel: Essential for every Manitoban. I was living in luxury in my apartment in Hamilton, with wonderful underground parking – never having to deal with shoveling. And Hamilton of course has sufficient plowing. The shovel was never personally needed.

An extension cord: This isn’t needed quite yet; however, one person in my apartment complex is already plugging in their car. Give me a break! It’s not that cold yet! But in time, I will need one. Ohh how I am just waiting for the -50 weather!

A good winter coat: I’m really not ready for it. I don’t feel like it’s winter time yet. It’s only November. I have a nice winter coat, you know, one of those ones you buy at Ricki’s, but I don’t have a real one. One that will keep the cold out. For now, I’m bundling up with sweaters, and wearing my awesome cargo jacket on top.

A couple pairs of long johns: Oh yeah, I finally get to have long johns. I’ve always secretly wanted some, and now is my chance. I finally have the legitimate chance to freak out about winter and go so far to get some thermal underwear. I am personally most excited about this one.

A pair of warm gloves: I’ve noticed that my nice, sleek, city gloves are so not adequate. My hands get cold so fast. So, so fast. My poor, poor hands.

A few pairs of non-ripped jeans: Honestly, nowadays it is so hard to find jeans without rips in them. I have one pair that has no rips. My lack of non-ripped jeans is seriously not a good idea for winter (anywhere, in fact). Wait! Will they be okay if I have my sweet long johns on under them?

A doorway mat: My poor cream carpet. I’m now all of a sudden at the point of taking off my boots before I enter my apartment, and fate had it that my huge reuseable plastic IKEA bag was sitting right beside the door when I had to do that. That shall be my boots spot until I get that mat.

A pair of ski/snow pants: I’m unsure on this one. People say that if you drive out of the city a lot, then these are essential. I think these will be an “extra” thing I get if need be.

That’s all I can think of right now, but there may be more as the winter rolls on. Oh right, and then there are the things I want, like a trapper hat. Yup, I am so getting one.

So, the Winter Wonderland is here. Donations are welcome to help my cause. Does someone want to build me a “Manitoba Survival Kit”? I’d love you for it!

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

P.S. I still drive faster than the average Manitoban on snow covered roads.

5 thoughts on “The Shovel Realization

  1. Oh Sheri, just wait until you master the art of the Winnipeg Wrap with your extension cord! Then you’ll be a true Manitoban 🙂

    Re: ski pants… I’ve been here for 3 years and don’t have a pair, but they’re definitely on my wish list. Sometimes people look at me like I’m crazy when I say I don’t have any!

  2. When I moved to Manitoba I had to actually get a block heater installed on my vehicle as it didn’t have one – just wasn’t necessary in Nova Scotia LOL. I tried looking for it but couldn’t find the plug in cord so I had to go to a garage and get some help. I will never forget the mechanic’s face. He was completely shocked and puzzled when he told me he couldn’t find a block heater anywhere in my vehicle. LOL

  3. A shovel: Southern Ontario gets far more snow on average than Manitoba, and by the way there are lots of snow plows here. No need to call in army when there’s a good snowstorm.
    You’re funny. You talk about Ontario like it’s Florida or Texas. Please, I’ve been in Toronto when it’s been close to -30C. Whereas -10C here is quite a nice day, as long as the winds aren’t strong, in Ontario -10C feels absolutely bitter.

    • Actually, Hamilton doesn’t get much snow. Surrounding areas, yes. And if you check out other previous posts…I do mention that the weather here isn’t nearly as bad as it should “feel” in my head. You’re right, -10 in Ontario is much different than -10 here, and it is much nicer here. I’ve made that observation, several times.

Leave a Reply

