The Case For Underground Parking

It seems as though I’m finally experiencing a real Manitoba winter. The temperatures are finally as low as I thought they may be, but you know, it’s winter, so I wouldn’t expect anything less. So far, I’ve been surviving well. It’s really not that bad. My memory of Ontario winters are fading fast, and these temperatures are becoming a new norm for me. That being said, I had my first Manitoba winter mishap, and will always call for more underground parking in this province. It’s really a great invention, why doesn’t this place utilize it more?

The mishap: Well, as I walked out to my car to go to work in the morning on Thursday, what did I see? I saw that my extension cord and/or the plug in had stopped working overnight. I was slightly worried. I tried starting my car…a few times, and it just wouldn’t start for me. Yay for car trouble on my 4th day at my new job. Anyway, I got things plugged back in and a few hours later, the car started again. Of course, this was during lunch time, so there was no point in going to work at that point…so I waited a little while longer, and when I tried to start my car again that time, it once again wouldn’t start for me. I frantically got in touch with friends, and to say the least, they rock. Thank you friends for picking me up to and from work! It was greatly appreciated.

This mishap just let me know how things were going to be here. I know we’ve been spoiled in the west so far this year, but I get it. When it’s cold, it’s cold (and as I type this – it’s not cold anymore, we’re breaking records with the high temperatures!) So I ask the question again, why so little underground parking? I know we have wide open space (room to make our big mistakes), so maybe we feel the need to use it, but hey, what about trying something different? The winter wouldn’t nearly be as much of a hassle here if people could park their vehicles underground. Nice and dry. Nice and warm(er). No plugging vehicles in. No scraping ice or brushing snow off the car. Woooo that would be wonderful! I can’t wait until the day I have a garage! It’s funny how you just take the simple things in life for granted, like underground parking. Or not having to plug your car in. Although at this point, plugging the car in is second nature to me. I couldn’t picture life without it at this point!

So, thoughts on the underground parking debate? For the cold, cold winters of Manitoba? Is this going to be my get rich quick scheme? Starting a company that specializes in doing underground parking for buildings? Manitoban’s would be flocking, right, right? Or…does nobody in Manitoba really care, because they’re just used to the winter as it is…?

2 thoughts on “The Case For Underground Parking

  1. Oh dear… I remember that when one of my former co-bloggers moved here, he had just bought a car that oddly enough didn’t have a block heater cord – so there was no way to plug it in. It was a Saturn, and there was only one Saturn dealership in town. It turned out to be this major, ridiculous debacle trying to order the part. So in the meantime, when it was really cold, he’d have to get up in the middle of the night and go start his car every few hours so that he could be sure it would start in the morning. What a total pain!

    Anyway – yes! I totally agree, underground parking is the way to go, and when I compare Vancouver to Winnipeg (can’t help myself!) I can’t think of a single above-ground parkade lot in Vancouver’s downtown area – but know where LOTS of underground parking is.

    My husband and I joke that when we want to clean our car off in the winter, we just go park in the Winnipeg Square underground parking for a couple of hours, and everything melts off 🙂 I would love to see the city replace all its surface parking with buildings, and if there has to be parking , make in underground, beneath them.

Leave a Reply

